Has Your Responsibilities Ever Drastically Changed?

nomadic_butterfly

*Pardon the title's grammatical errors. I am tireeddd and I can't update it

I've been at a company for less than a year and my boss spoke of my job responsibilities changing a lot and she highlighted these changes to me and wants my thoughts.

I found out after I was hired that my role was junior level in the context of the company despite the fact that same exact title was more senior at my previous companies. I have over 4 yrs experience in my field when I joined, yet most people there with my title are fresh out of college.

I overlooked this despite me being overqualified and underpaid in context (found out I low-balled myself and my boss probably felt bad for me and offered me above my high range, but it's still way below the high range of my title's band level at the company). It still was a 40% increase on what I made at my last company (and they were underpaying me too). The new responsibilities make sense if someone is just starting out and trying to get a more general feel of things, but I don't want/need to be doing a bunch of entry level admin type of work. That is not what I signed up for. They hired me for my unique skill set/experience and it seems I am doing less and less of what initially attracted me to the role and made me apply in the first place. I am not interested in menial responsibilities and my team has completely new management that don't seem super flexible. My boss is also actively looking for a new role, so I am a little concerned. Other team members have also had their roles radically change.

Anyone ever been through this? How should I approach this?

Edited by nomadic_butterfly

Actually it all depends on you.

If ur career goal is to build expertise in ur field, then changing responsibilities would misalign the job with ur career objectives. Then there is no point being in the position if the money factor is not a problem.