I recently went through two rounds of interviews within a week for a well-paying entry-level job in university fundraising at my alma mater after being directly invited to apply. I have a graduate degree in administration from the university and have two years of graduate internship in another fundraising office at the university. During that week, my girlfriends mother and my grandfather both passed away, I still performed well in my interviews. In the final interview, I had to talk about my grandparents in interview because the most pressing area of work directly related to their life experience.

I was given every indication that I was being seriously considered and I gave well-received interviews including a combative panel interview in which I gracefully presented my case for employment. I was told to take as long as I needed on my writing test with smiles from my contact. They kept me waiting for an answer for over 3 weeks and did not respond until my third follow-up email with an impersonal rejection email. In the interim, they opened and closed a more senior position with similar responsibilities.

I of course asked for feedback and about another position there, I will likely get no response. On Friday, I will send a very polite thank you note to the contact trying to keep a professional relationship, I doubt they care. In the future, I will likely be able to learn of their selections given my directory access and the internet. I hope the person was truly worthy, they knew given my resume that I really needed the job. Ironically the position involved the stewardship of the donor base and these people may yet cross paths with me in the future.

I got burned. :(

Obviously you’re upset and disappointed that you didn’t get the job. Most likely they did give you serious consideration, (along with other people) but a good interview – even a GREAT interview – is not a guarantee that you will get an offer.