By the end of the year, I will have $100K saved up, should I quit my job and travel?

Csmith224422

I play on travelling light, backpacking, staying in hostels, and using miles for free flights. Also, I would teach English and pick up other jobs while traveling.

Also, when I come back after about a year or two, I may enroll in a graduate school program for business so I would be making a career change.

Currently, I am a lawyer and have been practicing for 8 years. I actually like my job and enjoy what I do, but I have other interests and feel bored with the daily routine.

• Like 3

If you don't do it now, when will you?

If you can't get a job when you get back you can always hang out a shingle.

• Like 2

I was wondering how you managed to save that much money and then red the lawyer for 8 years bit. You sure are lucky. I think you might be better off buying a home and having minimal mortgage payments if you don't already. In some areas $100k could be 50% down.

• Like 1
StalwartMind

I would say yes. Do you have any specific destinations in mind? Many places in Asia offer English teaching jobs. While it's not for everyone, I do find traveling to wonderful, especially when you get to see other locations in a non traditional tourist way. Encouragement from here!

• Like 2

You should buy a property, rent it out, then go travelling. Why do you have 100k in savings? Why isn't it invested? You must be 30 at least, time to think about the future, you don't want to be in the same or worse position when you are 35.

• Like 3
I play on travelling light, backpacking, staying in hostels, and using miles for free flights. Also, I would teach English and pick up other jobs while traveling.

Also, when I come back after about a year or two, I may enroll in a graduate school program for business so I would be making a career change.