Negotiating salary offer

I am a hiring manager and I still get anxious about this. Ugh.

I just got an offer from a Fortune 100 company. It's a job I really do want, but the salary was about 20k lower than my last. Not a huge deal because it's in an area with much lower cost of living.

The HR person who called told me the amount and I kind of mentally went "eh... not so good". I asked her if it was negotiable and she said she didn't know what was budgeted for it. Told her I have interest from another company offering 7k more but that I'd settle for 5k more for this role.

So she went to talk to the hiring manager and now I'm waiting to hear back. I'm irrationally scared that they're going to tell me they're withdrawing the initial offer. Does that ever happen? I've never done it, but who knows?

I'd love some encouragement and/or advice while I anxiously wait to hear from her :)

-A

• Like 1
nomadic_butterfly
I am a hiring manager and I still get anxious about this. Ugh.

I just got an offer from a Fortune 100 company. It's a job I really do want, but the salary was about 20k lower than my last. Not a huge deal because it's in an area with much lower cost of living.

The HR person who called told me the amount and I kind of mentally went "eh... not so good". I asked her if it was negotiable and she said she didn't know what was budgeted for it. Told her I have interest from another company offering 7k more but that I'd settle for 5k more for this role.

So she went to talk to the hiring manager and now I'm waiting to hear back. I'm irrationally scared that they're going to tell me they're withdrawing the initial offer. Does that ever happen? I've never done it, but who knows?

I'd love some encouragement and/or advice while I anxiously wait to hear from her :)

-A