How to deal with work schedule and local employees

creighton0123

I'm a year-long manager of a technical department that is based on the East Coast and in China. Since stepping into the management role, I did something that my predecessor never did: provide one on one time to my employees in both time zones. I work 11-6 in my time z one, then 9 or 10 to 1AM with my remote employees. My director also enjoys this, since he is on the west coast and it offers him better access to me.

My folks in China love this - particularly because I am communicate with them in Chinese. Their performance has skyrocketed.

My local employees, however, took my morning absence to heart and rated me negatively on my performance review (employees can rate managers). Their performance plummeted, despite only being absent my presence for two hours in the morning.

As a relatively new manager (one year in this job and one year in a call center environment years ago), I'm not quite sure how to handle this situation.

I explained this to them at the start, do not micro manage, and answer any and all escalations they have at all times (an escalated issue sends me a text message). I am left feeling as though the're trying to stiff me and take advantage of my absence by not working as hard in the morning.

Any advice?

I am left feeling as though the're trying to stiff me and take advantage of my absence by not working as hard in the morning.

Sounds like it...

My local employees, however, took my morning absence to heart and rated me negatively on my performance review (employees can rate managers). Their performance plummeted, despite only being absent my presence for two hours in the morning.

Any advice?

Does YOUR direct boss know this is your schedule and plan? Does he realize that your absence is affecting the local employees?