Is this indirect criticism?

I'm not sure how I'm supposed to interpret these comments made by my co-workers and superiors. Long story short, I've been working at this school since fall 2012 and all year long, including summers. Today, one of my superiors asked me if this is my second or third semester. It's actually my seventh and she should know it since she is one of my direct superiors. I told her this and she asked me if there was light at the end of the tunnel. I wasn't sure what she meant so I laughed and said "hopefully".

I'm left with only two conclusions. Either I'm that interesting and important or she is criticizing me indirectly.

Earlier this week we all had a meeting. After the meeting one of the older teachers there approached me and said:

You know, we have something really special here. Most other schools have a revolving door of instructors. Here we have good instructors that were here 20, 15, 10 years.

That doesn't feel very bad to me but it is ambiguous. Ideas?

It sounds like since there is low turnover there compared to other places, your being there 2-3 years isn't very long in their eyes. I would shrug it off and not worry too much about it.

I've been working at this school since fall 2012 and all year long, including summers. Today, one of my superiors asked me if this is my second or third semester. It's actually my seventh and she should know it since she is one of my direct superiors.

Based on your other threads, I think you are over-analyzing everything that happens at your job and getting really over-critical with yourself.

Regarding what happened with your superior, please bear in mind that some people are really bad with dates. Like me, for example. My new husband recently said that we just celebrated our fourth Christmas together. FOUR. Pretty simple number, isn't it?