true life: I hate my new job

So I graduated college earlier this year and got a bachelors degree. I spent all summer job hunting until I got an offer from my university. The job was similar to what I did in college but not totally the same. I figured I could do it decently. I just finished the job on day two and I don't like it. I had to relocate about two hours from my family for this and I am so unhappy. I sit in an office 9-5 which I thought I would enjoy but I don't. Everyone who works there is so nice so that isn't an issue. We all have open cubicles except our one big boss who has an office. I am so confused about what they want me to do and maybe they are just easing me into things but I am bored out of my mind. I sit most of the time pretending to read my computer and do stuff when I am daydreaming. They seem to be doing fine without me doing anything. I don't understand what the guy before me even did. He left me daily instructions but most of the stuff seems tedious and can be done quickly. One of the things I could do in one day and its done for the week. I am shy so I have a hard time going up and asking for work to do. I've asked other employees if I can help them which is apart of my job description but they decline me. I told the big boss if he has anything for me to do to tell me but he has yet to do it. I'm so bored. I'm so unhappy. They are paying me a ton and I get salary so not even an hourly pay which is unheard of for entry level. My mom thinks i need to give it more time. I will because I've never been a quitter. I just feel stupid and confused and I feel like they think I am just sitting doing nothing as well. But they seem so nice though so I'm thinking they think I am doing stuff.