About to be unemployed again..

My employer is letting me work two days this week, and then I am gone. I've been getting prepared for hell. This is taking me back to the four months I was unemployed when I graduated from college.

I really don't know if I'll be able to cope this time. My car is, most likely, going to be repo'd, and that is the only thing I really have, besides my cell phone.

I felt like I was starting to make improvements in my life, and I definitely was starting to feel more confident around people. I know after a few months, plus, of unemployment, I'll be starting all over again.

From having this long weekend, I'm already starting to feel that depression coming on. I have been trying to read something that will help detach me from reality, to ease the pain, but I'm having a hard time putting it into practice.

I'd really rather not live anymore than to be unemployed lol. Seems harsh, but having all that time on my hands is torture. Plus, I just find it super odd to see people out enjoying life, because enjoyment is so foreign to me. I often ask myself how people pull it off?

Anyways, has anyone out there suffered long term unemployment, and if so, what are some ways you coped?

It's going to be a long winter!

What field are you in?

I don't believe in trying to detach from reality to escape a problem when it's something that lies within your grasp to solve. Rather than trying to read and escape, why not use the long weekend to put 100% of your effort into finding a new job? You might get one sooner than you expect, especially if you are willing to work at any type of job or move for it.

• Author
What field are you in?