I find it hard to get on with people at work

To give a bit of background, I'm a young university graduate and this is my first real job. I'm with this museum run completely by volunteers and am employed to help initiate new volunteers and recruit more. Sometimes I also help with promotional events and giving visitor tours etc. I must stress that I do not see myself as any better than anyone else there even though the vast majority of them do not have a degree (some of them seem not to like me for this reason).

Basically I feel a bit unappreciated (maybe I just expect too much). It's really hard for me to get feedback from people to do my job right - basically they ask me to get volunteers for particular projects but sometimes I bring in new people and they tell them to do something else because they don't want new people on that project. I find this is a bit annoying that they want me to get new volunteers but don't seem enthusiastic when I bring them in. It means I have to undo stuff I've done.

Then I have people asking me what I am doing and I have to keep telling them my job title. One of them told me that people wonder what my job is what I am doing and I told him that I keep telling everyone but they don't seem to realise. So I made a complaint about this and I said I would happy to give a report on my activities on the next member's meeting. They agreed to this, I prepared something to read and all seemed fine. I wanted to give a report so I could hear feedback on what I've been working on (as I said previously, it's really hard for me to organise certain things because they don't care enough to give me feedback).