College degrees & double majors--worth it?

I'm an adult student in my jr year of university. After I declared my major, I noticed a lot of classes overlapped with another department, it ends up that 4 extra classes will get a minor. I decided that's 1 extra class per semester, I can do that.

My advisor informed me that with another 4 classes, I could double major instead of doing the major/minor. He believes it's a no brainer. However, he has a PhD and is about the same age as me, I know he values higher education. He also mentioned the fact that if I ever decide to go back for a master's, this would make it easier. At this point I have no desire for a masters.

I don't know what to do. My husband doesn't even want me getting a minor ($$ & time), so for him the double major is out. Due to financial aid, I would have to add another semester.

Do employers look for double majors? Or would they rather have one degree with more internship/field work experience? Is it worth it?

Edited by SJS

What are the majors, if I can ask?

My ex had a double chemistry/biology. A combo like that (I wish I'd done it) is worth it, IMO.

My first degree (BS) was in chemistry. It helped me immensely when I went back to nursing school. I also found my background to lead me into more technical and pharmaceutical aspects of my nursing jobs.

• Author

Environmental science, 2nd major would be geology/environmental geosciences. That's why so many classes overlap.

My personal opinion? It sounds like an awesome combo. Is there ANY way you could get your husband to come around to it?

With the state of our earth, the environment, and our declining resources, you'll always work. I don't have a clue what employers would look for, but 'geo' sure stands out to me.

Do you know anyone in the field you can talk to? Potential employers?