asking for time to think about a job offer

Daisygirl29

I am a recent graduate and have been going on several job interviews lately. I have my top choice interview tomorrow. What I am wondering is if one of the other places I have interviewed at offers me a job how can I professionally ask for more time without them thinking I am not interested?

Also what is the standard length of time that is acceptable to ask for?

• Like 2

This is hard. I'd say it depends on how quickly the job needs to be filled. There is always the chance they could offer the position to someone else if you wait too long. My last job actually gave me a few days to accept/sign the employment offer, which was standard. If you don't respond or accept within the allotted time frame, they'd move on to another candidate. I'd simply ask how long you have to accept the offer and see what they say.

• Like 1
melodicintention

That's a really good and interesting question. I read that there is no standard, but most companies range from 24hrs to 3 day. You could delay the offer by asking for it in writing, and by asking to make adjustments to the offer yourself. Another thought, accept the job and if you get the other, just quit. People do it everyday.

• Like 1
That's a really good and interesting question. I read that there is no standard, but most companies range from 24hrs to 3 day. You could delay the offer by asking for it in writing, and by asking to make adjustments to the offer yourself. Another thought, accept the job and if you get the other, just quit. People do it everyday.

Although people do frequently do this, it isn't necessarily a good thing. In most cases you're burning a bridge and you never know where you will be in the future.