Co-worker touching his private parts... a lot!

PinkInTheLimo

I am surprised that I have not hit him yet. And yelled that he is a peasant and should go back to the retarded east european country he comes from. It's totally disgusting!

I have been working for 26 years and I have never come across this kind of problem. I have worked with a lot of guys and I was never confronted with inappropriate behaviour. But now I am confronted with a co-worker who has this habit of touching his private parts in front of me. As a matter of fact, also when he is sitting in a meeting most of the time his legs are really spread out wide and his hand is always on his crotch, AND sometimes his fingers are fiddling (and since the hand is fiddling on the crotch, well, it's his private parts he is fiddling).

I don't have the feeling he is doing this on purpose as he does not do anything else which is appropriate. It's probably just a bad habit and one which makes me terribly uncomfortable.

I have been to Human Resources and they told me to tell him but I'd rather die than to talk to him about this. I am not his wife nor his mother so it's not my task to educate him. That behaviour should have been eliminated by the time he was 6 or 7 and it's not my fault that he was brought up like a peasant.

I also don't want this to become some kind of little dirty secret between him and me, something I have mentioned to him but no one else. In my eyes this is a serious offense in the workplace and it does not matter if it is not done intentionally.

There is no way I can avoid this guy in my current job and service because he is my coach since I am new in the job. So on the one hand I need him to explain things to me but on the other hand whenever he is explaining something to me, I have to endure him sitting next to me with his hand on his crotch!