Management Problem

bathtub-row

I'm a manager at a mid-size firm, and I have 3 people on my team. I have had 2 consistent problems that I just can't seem to ever get a handle on and I'm catching a lot of heat about it from my Corp office. I'm hoping someone here can help because I'm at a loss.

Problem #1 -A big part of the job for my team is doing data entry. It's not standard data entry, it's fairly complicated at times. So, say, for 2500 entries, the whole group may have about 25 errors. This seems like a low percentage rate but my counterpart's team in another division has about half that amount. I've thought about calling her for advice but I don't know if she'd have anything to say that I haven't already heard. Whenever I interview people for these Admin jobs, I try to explain to them just how complicated it is but they never really understand it fully until they actually start working there. A recent new-hire said to me that she had no idea it was so complicated, that there's SO much to remember. And this is really the problem - too much room for error. We have all kinds of checks at the end of the day, etc. but still seem to make errors (not looking for perfection here but we need to reduce them significantly). I'm not sure comparing my team to another division is a true 'apples to apples' comparison but I'm assuming it's close enough. Bottom line: I'm trying to figure out how my team can cut down on errors.