How do you deal with being overestimated?

Eternal Sunshine

I feel like people at my current job are overestimating me. I have only been here for 3 weeks. I am being treated so well by all the bosses but I cringe when I am introduced as "an expert" and being told how lucky they are to have me.

In reality, my main project is in an area I am not that familiar with. I am doing a lot of reading in my spare time but I have no practical experience in it. I worry that I will eventually dissapoint them. I also worry that hiring me was a rush move. The hiring manager was due to take his leave so he was kind of in a rush to hire someone before he goes. Yes - the interview was a panel interview but he still was the one deciding. They had 40 applications and interviewed 5 people before picking me. The interview was also technical but I fear that just because I understand the concepts, they were somehow led to beleive that I have more experience in this than I really do.

I dunno, I wasn't dishonest in either my interview or CV but I really don't want to let these people down :/

You're still finding your feet in your new job so it is no wonder you feel a bit out of your depth at times but that does not mean you are not good enough. You just need time. As for the project you are working on well wouldn't it be boring if you were doing something that did not challenge you or gave you the opportunity to learn and develop new skills? That's one of the best (and most nerve wracking) things about new jobs.

You'll be fine ES :)

• Like 6

They probably aren't overestimating you. You are underestimating yourself. If they hired you then they think you can do this. Prove them right! :)

• Like 5
Art_Critic

They knew who they were hiring before they hired you..

They chose you because they felt you could do the job and do it better than anyone else.

There are also many other factors going into hiring and you are focusing on that one..