Has something like this ever happened to you before?

purplesoccer34

I've been working at a place for a few months, and just yesterday, the HR manager approached me. I have two bosses, and she said that both of my bosses were not happy with a certain part of my performance. She said that they both liked me as a person, but that I needed to fix a few things. She said to ask my other coworker for hints and tips (we both work different shifts, so I never get to see my other coworker).

I can't stop beating myself up over it, because this has never happened to me before. At every other job I've had, I've only been commended for my performance. I always try to do my best, so this was a slap in the face.

The other thing is that, I had no clue that my bosses were not happy. They never mentioned anything to me, and they have been nothing but friendly and approachable towards me, so I had no idea. I wish they had mentioned something to me before or even hinted at it, because it's something I could have easily fixed. I honestly didn't think I was doing anything wrong.

Anyways, I've learned my lesson and I will do anything to fix this, but since I'm not used to making silly mistakes like this one, I can't forgive myself one bit. Has something like this ever happened to you?

Never ever has that happened in my life. I've always been approached at the lowest level and been given an opportunity to correct issues and conversely as a leader I would always do the same for subordinates.

I don't understand why neither of your bosses spoke with you first. In my experience HR only gets involved when you have repeated performance issues. That doesn't sound like the case here.

Very confusing. Can you ask HR why your bosses didn't speak with you first? I would, I think it's only fair.

• Like 2
  • Author
purplesoccer34