LoveShack.org Community Forums

Reload this Page LoveShack.org Community Forums > Platonic > Business and Professional Relationships

Government jobs

Business and Professional Relationships Networking and maintaining a positive environment in the work place is important! Surviving the 9-to-5 within.

Old 11th May 2014, 10:14 PM   #1
GG3
Established Member

Government jobs

Does anyone here have a government job? I'm an engineer and I was invited to apply for one where I work. Does anyone here have a government job and have any opinions to share on how they feel the security of their position is? Pros? Cons?
GG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2014, 10:35 PM   #2
Established Member

Local pays better than county pays better than federal

usually...
Old 11th May 2014, 10:54 PM   #3

I work for the federal government. The reason I wanted the job was for job security. In my field, prior to my government job, I worked for 3 different companies in less than 10 years all while in the same building, simply because of mergers. And then I lost my job, because of another merger. No fear of that in the government.

Don't work for the government if you are looking to make lots of money. It won't happen, not for an employee (contractors are another story). The benefits are still relatively good - although not as good as they used to be.

It is also a relief to be working towards a "mission" instead of having to constantly worry about the profits - or lack of them.

Wisdom: Knowing not to put it in fruit salad.
dovegirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2014, 11:05 AM   #4
Established Member

My husband loves his gov't job.
d0nnivain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2014, 11:12 AM   #5
Established Member

Pros: Job security & benefits
Con: any equivalent job as a contractor will make a great deal more money
Old 12th May 2014, 12:48 PM   #6

Its contingent to the job field and location for Federal jobs.