Apply for a position I'm overqualified for?

Is it considered poor form to apply for a position I'm overqualified for? How do HR people react to that? If I explain myself in the cover letter, would that be beneficial?

I think the company and its work would be a great place for me. The skill set they require is something I've been doing for about 10 years while the ad asks for 2 - 5 years experience. Prior to even determining whether they can pay me fairly, I just want some idea of how applying is viewed. Thanks!

• Like 1
Is it considered poor form to apply for a position I'm overqualified for? How do HR people react to that? If I explain myself in the cover letter, would that be beneficial?

I think the company and its work would be a great place for me. The skill set they require is something I've been doing for about 10 years while the ad asks for 2 - 5 years experience. Prior to even determining whether they can pay me fairly, I just want some idea of how applying is viewed. Thanks!

I don't think so. I've been doing the same. It depends on the company though. Some companies want someone fresh out of college and easily moldable, with less experience, while others will welcome you, although you will be underpaid. It never hurts. Sometimes you just need to bring in an income while you look for something better.

I have done this before, the only issue that they wanted to go over (and over) was the possibility of me leaving after a short time.

• Author

Thanks, ladies! I think I'm going to go ahead and apply rather than just send in my info for a future position.

I have done this before, the only issue that they wanted to go over (and over) was the possibility of me leaving after a short time.

This, the only concern an employer would have is if you will jump ship as soon as a better position opens, due to your qualifications. But it never hurts to try.

VeronicaRoss