Should I get another job?

I'm 27 and a recent college graduate with an MA. However, it's hard to break into my field and I have no previous work experience. Therefore, I'm currently working at an insurance agency (health) to pay off my loans and get some work experience while I try to break into my field.

However, my current job is just too stressful and I have to deal with annoying customers everyday. Plus with the added pressure that if I screw up, it's no joke since this is insurance. Since this is dealing with Obamacare, it was so crazy around the deadlines that I just felt so burned out.

I'm still making a lot of mistakes 3 months into my job and get yelled at often. Some of these mistakes are pretty major and my boss and coworkers have to scramble to mitigate the damage. It really makes me feel bad and it's having an effect on my confidence, especially considering my coworker who started a week after me has picked it up pretty fast. But all of this insurance stuff can be confusing and contradictory and it's seriously driving me crazy.

Furthermore, I am having problems with a coworker who alternates between being helpful but yet can be condescending as well. She openly discussed about my mistakes with the other coworker right in front of me and they laughed about it while I was helping a customer. It's really messed up but she has been here 6 years and so I rely on her a lot for help and guidance. How should I handle this?

I seriously feel like this isn't the right job for me but I do realize this is my first job and I don't want to feel like I didn't give it my all. However, it has been 3 months so isn't it enough time? Should I give it more time to see if I can pick it up or enjoy it more? Ultimately, this isn't the career path anyway since I want to go into my field. This is only temporary but should I give another try before I find another job? I don't want to feel like a quitter. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

• Like 2