I have a big decision to make...

I've been offered an opportunity at work that I'm not sure I'm ready for. I'm qualified - but I'm not sure if I'm ready emotionally.

A little background... I have a lot of management experience, from entry level management to area management- and some positions in between (retail related). My last job was a very sales oriented position. I quickly progressed from running two of their stores to handling 5. My boss was a horrible woman. She loved to scream and yell and humiliate people- myself included. The way she abused people was outrageous. Words can't convey how stressful that job was. I endured two years of going to work every day so stressed out that my hair started falling out and I was barely able to eat or sleep. Just an overall terrible experience. I walked out one day and never looked back.

After that I went on to do merchandising contract work for new store openings. I really enjoyed doing that. I'd work 80 hours a week putting a store together for the grand opening- then move on to the next contract.

Fast forward to now. I took an entry level job and a huge cut in pay in order to have something steady. It's been so nice to come home every day and not take my job with me. I do my job, I do it well, I've made lots of friends, I have amazing bosses- and the feeling of not having serious responsibility has been just what I've needed given my last experience.

I'm happy, I'm content, but there is just a natural part of me that can't help but lead. I bust my butt for them, I take on extra projects, I lead those projects, I direct people informally. People that have worked at the company for 10 years gravitate to me for guidance on their projects and come to me for direction. It's like I'm managing without the title- and I've been content doing so- I don't feel the stress of responsibility and I don't have the accountability that comes with a title.