Effectively managing those with more experience

I start my new job next week. A brief synopsis is I was in a former unrelated career for over 20 years. I changed careers and spent some time in what would be considered entry level for a combined time of about 1.5 years. Many people in my field feel with my job feel you should stay at the basics for 5 to 10 years to be worth anything. I then moved on to review work for 2.5 years.

I found out pretty fast the hands on stuff, though I loved it, I didn't like the politics. My goal is eventually more health prevention and promotion and wellness. My new job is pretty cool in that I am a manager as well as educator but still with some hands on. I have management experience in my previous field, but on a super small scale of a few people and I was on site for the corporation so it was entirely different.

Here as well as educating I will also fill in as need be. I have no problem doing that but my skills are rusty. I plan to look to those with more experience for the refresher.

I understand I may get resistance from people who don't think I've earned my stripes so to speak to have this role. I know I can do this because I recognize and can figure out a plan to fix problems and initiate better procedures, even though I may not have a lot of years learning the basics.

Some in my field are content to just carry out the needed duties and the hands on things for a number of years, which is great and I respect them. Where I have the problem is not having the authority to make needed changes in that kind of role. Which is why this new one sounds like a great fit. I will be able to make a difference.