Business decision..vs personal

background: I work in sales/marketing.

Three weeks ago a local couple showed up with trinkets and candles designed to promote business. Logos and little gift givers. They asked that we "test" them for a week and perhaps we'd place an order. Two weeks go by and Our marketing group agreed this was not the direction we wanted to go in for the company. So the "wife" stops in while I am at lunch and picks up the "samples".

Later that afternoon her husband shows up irate, and says when they got the sample basket back that two candles and a few key chains were missing. He demanded I pay up for them. I told him that the basket had not been tampered with and our business wasn't about to pay for the "sample" basket.

My boss happens to be in a meeting and overhears the commotion. He is ALL about "image" and presenting a pleasant rapport. He takes me aside and says...get your check book out and pay the man. We can't be calling people liars in this business. (I didn't call the man a liar I said the items were all in the basket when picked up).We must rise above this. I reluctantly paid the guy.....He said it was 40$ worth. And away he went. I will not get re-imbursed for this and I cannot shake the notion that I had been conned by this guy and his wife. My boss now thinks that I "took" the samples....When I know I didn't. The Lady who manned the desk is very trustworthy and She would have zero reason to "retain" any of the samples. We are honest in that way. So may I ask how this could have been handled that appeased my boss, appeased that couple , and appeased my job position.? I feel like I got taken by this shyster. That 40$ could have been used for my gas and now I am short this week...bus fare isn't an option.

UpwardForward

Did you give them cash or check. If check they probably ran to your bank - otherwise I would suggest stopping payment.

These people 'marketing' shouldn't have given out samples they didn't intend to be kept.