Should you stay or should you leave?

Hey there

I got into a new job not long ago (contract basis) but I feel that there is nothing that I can learn from in my daily work except routine buttons pushing and they are probably going to make me learn other dept stuff which I'm not interested (I like to specialize in my own field).

The only place that I can learn more in depth about my profession is by asking one of my colleague (a quant) or scoop around and do research myself. Because the team is pretty stable the job scope that I am doing is pretty much of no need to have another person to value add.

What I feel is that I'm not sure if I will do the same stuff over at my new job, which I should be mentally prepared, and to learn everything new again.

Should I stay or leave? I actually have a job offer.

Hey! I'm one of those quants!

From a purely logical standpoint, if you already know what you're getting now and you hate it, then why not take a chance on a new gig. The worst that can happen is that you hate it... a little more maybe?

In my world, job offers are hard to come by. If you have even a reasonable chance that the other job would be more beneficial to your professional knowledge and growth, hit it! Salary notwithstanding... you never mentioned.

• Author

Hi Krytie!

Oh thank god I found someone familiar in here. :)

Here's the thing: My current company is nice, people are nice, everything is peaceful etc. Salary wise is slightly below what I drawn last time but it's still bearable for the time being for me if I consider that I can learn more stuff to be a market risk professional.

But thing is I don't see what productivity I can achieve by pushing buttons and reporting to my higher-ups with excel-churned reports and my dream is to be a professional risk manager. I wonder two years from now will I still stay the same as I am today or?

The question is more about my personal growth. Though I'm not sure what the other job offer would add value to me.