Is there any easy way to deal with death?

I work in a hospital, and therefore have many experiences with death. I have contact with most of the people I see in obituaries everyday, whether it be registering them, talking to them...whatever.

Is death something you can get accustomed to?

I walked past a woman in ICU two days ago and thought to myself: "She looks like she will pass soon." Her daughters were sitting by her side weeping. That night at the end of my shift she did die. I feel vaguely guilty for even thinking what I did, even though I know I had nothing to do with it.

One of our duties is filling out the death record on people who pass away in the hospital. It is especially hard when there is a tragic accident like an MVC. Handing out the morgue key is distressing. I wish I could be calm and cool like the representatives from the funeral homes. Sympathetic yet detached.

I can deal with blood, vomit, urine - whatever now. But death is something that always makes me feel a chill. I love my job, all except for the one thing that humans always do without fail, every day. In that respect I have too much empathy to be detached and "professional".

Can you get "jaded" when people you barely know pass away?

You never get used to death but you do learn how to handle it and accept it as just as much a part of life as birth. We come from nothing and return there, as far as the Earth is concerned. Death is something you have to come to terms with yourself. You can believe that souls go on to a heaven, are reincarnated, make a transition to another energy form or whatever. Dealing with death is part of the learning that occurs along each person's spiritual path. There are many cultures that celebrate death as a milestone in moving on to the next tier of existence. Many prefer to celebrat a person's life rather than curse all they did by mourning their death rather than wishing them well in that transition.