Asking for more money

I'm not sure if this is the right place for this, but you guys have been so helpful to me that I figure I'll give it a go.

I have been working at a popular retail store for nearly four years now, and have held the same position (sales associate) throughout. I know my department extremely well and am well-versed in pretty much every other department throughout the store.

I have been content with my part-time status of 20-30 hours a week partly because I'm in college. But the supervisor of my department recently got promoted to a new position and there appears to be an opening. The last time this happened, they hired an outsider to fill the supervisor position (I didn't even inquire about it) and it was a disaster. The guy they hired ended up quitting after a month of subpar work, and they promoted someone else from within to take the spot.

This time around, I think I could handle the increased workload and responsibility. It seems like an exciting challenge, and I have a lot of ideas I could bring to the department. Of course, for it to be worth my while, it all comes down to the dollars.

I was hired in 2009 at 7.75 an hour, which is what they start every employee at. Since then, I've gotten three raises but still only make 8.55/hr. I find this to be a bit low, but considering I'm only part time I never aggressively pursued more money.

I'm worried that if I ask to be the supervisor, they will try to give me a raise of less than a dollar or even no raise at all. In my head, I think 10/hr is very reasonable for me to request. But I really have no idea where I stand.

I know it can't hurt to ask, but I want to do this the right way. Your thoughts?

discuss the possibilty of promotion; i think you are a felllow female here so this is what i've read/learned- men assume they are worth every dime and tell the interviewer why so as to be clear, then they discuss promotion and money