how to tell boss about counseling appt

CaterpillarGirl

I just made an appointment to see my counselor. I go to the psychologist about 3 or 4 times a semester, and usually I try to make the appointment for a time outside of classes or research time (I'm a grad student). This time, however, I had to schedule an appointment that overlaps my research time. I know that I have to inform my advisor who is a big-time micromanager and will certainly notice my absence.

My problem is that I am also certain that when I tell him I'm going to see my counselor, he'll probe further. Yes, I know it's none of his business, but I don't know how to tell him in a way that will stave off superfluous questions. I don't want to sound curt or snippy, either. Sadly, I also feel that he is one of those people who thinks that going to see a psychologist means I am "crazy and weak," whereas I feel it is completely healthy and empowering to be working through my issues with a professional.

Any suggestions?

:confused:

Tell him that you have a doctors appointment. If he probes further tell him that it is personal. That is all you need to say and that is all he needs to know. If he keeps questioning - ask him why he needs to know the details? But before he gets to that point just tell him its personal and walk away.

I agree with Errol...there's no reason to go into any details...just say you have a Dr's. appointment...which is the truth.

We all get sick we all need personal time

He doesn't need to know anything other than you can not make it because of personal reasons.

If I describe it at all, which I probably wouldn't, I would say, either medical doctor (which is a lie, but you have the right to your privacy) or say you are "stuck on an issue and would like to get it resolved with a counselor".

Everybody gets stuck now and then.

"I have an important appointment".

Please tell me he is not so rude as to probe, "What kind of appointment?"