Hi guys this is just a random question about rent....not any complicated relationship issue...

I am in my first apartment by myself. I have been here about a year and a half and I have never paid the rent late. It's due on the first, we have 5 days to pay until late fee.

Now,

For the first time since I've been here, I simply don't have all my rent. Hard times, just is what it is. I have about 25$ more than half of it, and I can pay the remaining balance (about 400 [including late fee] in about ten days. Will this ruin my relationship with my landlord who has adored me up until this point because I never have any issues and I always pay on time? I could loan the money but I frankly just don't want to. I would rather pay when I can. I have written a letter to provide with my money order for the portion I can pay. Is this okay? I'm new at this so I am completely freaked out!

Unless your landlord's wet behind the ears, you won't be the first tenant he/she's ever had that's not able to pay all their rent on time. That's why they have a late fee structure/deadline pre-set - things happen, and sometimes, rent becomes a lower priority as a result. Your landlord should understand that, and be willing to work with you if you have the stable history of paying on time that you state you have.

As long as you give your landlord advance notice, it really shouldn't be a problem.

I've been at this stage a couple of times. Most of my money is paid by grants so I get two big checks twice a year. One in August and one in January. And for about two months before my August check comes in, I'm completely broke but I know I'll have money coming in.

So I get a cash advance from my credit card and use that for living expenses and rent. Then when my check gets in I right away pay off the cash advance and have a zero balance on my card. Of course there is a fee but it's not too bad.