Negative References for New Job

I'm in the interviewing process to get hired for a new job at the University where I am a student. The hiring person stated multiple times that he is interested in hiring me and today, he called asking for references.

I gave him one from my current job (part time, seasonal), and the one I worked before, which I recently quit. I called both of them to tell them first, the one I recently quit stated that she was unhappy with the fact I did not give 2 weeks notice, but rather quit immediately. She said that she was otherwise very pleased with my work during the time I worked for her. At the time, I thought I had good reasons for doing this.

So when I emailed the references to the hiring person, I mentioned that this had happened and that I had nothing to hide and I'd be happy to discuss it further with him. Now I'm waiting to hear back from him.

What do you guys think? I realize it looks like an unprofessional move on my part, but is it a deal-breaker? Could I do anything to soften it, beyond what I already did (i.e. owning up to it)?

Any advice would be appreciated...

Arabella

I think you handled it in the best way possible and I don't think there's more you can do at this point. Whether it's a deal breaker in this particular situation is really difficult to say. Just prepare yourself for that conversation with your potentially new boss in case it comes.

• Author

When I originally applied for this new job, I was doing so in advance for the new semester, which begins in September. I anticipated that I would need a new one after my seasonal work ended.

At the time, the hiring person went as far as to ask me if I would be willing to drop one of my two jobs on-campus in order to work for him over the Summer too, as he had need of someone right away.

I said that wouldn't be possible, as I had already committed to both jobs for the summer, but ultimately ended up leaving the one due to other reasons.