How many hours a week do you work?

And what country are you from? I'm curious how much people work depending on their country...

And don't count lunch either.... If you are at work 8-5 but take a hour lunch that's 8 hours...

I usually work about 10-12 hours a day on average.

I'm an area manager- and I work from home in the morning, then shower and go out on the road until my day is done. I'm up by 7-7:30am, on the road by noon, and usually back home between 8:30-9:30pm.

On my "days off"- I still deal with work constantly- fielding calls, dropping things off, whatever needs getting done.

I'd say I work between 55-60 hours a week on average.

I'm in Canada.

Star Gazer

I am a government employee and thus only "required" to work 40 hours a week. :laugh: However, I work closer to 45 in order to get the job done... I don't get any credit or comp time for those extra hours, and they'll soon been unnecessary as soon as additional attorneys are hired - pending budget approval.

Prior to public service, I was working about 60 hours a week.

The change in my quality of life and work-life balance has been amazing. Who knew 15-20 hours a week would make such a HUGE difference in my overall life satisfaction?!

I would prefer to work about 40-45 hours per week, but I probably work more like 55-60 in order to keep up with my workload. I find it incredibly stressful and wish I could find a less demanding job; work-life balance is important! But apparently we are not entitled to a life outside of work these days...

Nowadays it seems like all salaried professional jobs demand significantly more than the standard 40-ish hours; sometimes up to 60 hours or more. I wish I could find a professional job with reasonable hours; I'd be willing to accept a lower salary if I could work a standard 40 hour week :(