Introverts and Work

Bittersweetie

I'm an introvert. I realized it in my mid-20s and it helped explained some things I'd been dealing with at the time. I'm fine with it, though currently I'm having a bit of trouble figuring out what to do.

I recently started working full time for the first time in over ten years. I finished my master's degree and found a job, and I actually like where I work, what I do, and most of the people I work with. However, being in the office all day interacting with people is taxing on my introvert self. I come home and want to be alone in silence, and that's cutting in on time with my H. We both understood that there would be a transitional period for us while we got used to me working again, but I don't want to create a pattern where we aren't connecting in the evenings. I know from past experience that if I push myself too far and don't get enough alone time I will crack, and I'm trying to be proactive to prevent that from happening.

So my question is, are there other introverts out there? How do you deal with being in cubes working all day, and dealing with your family at night? What are some suggestions on finding that recharge time?

I really applaud you for posting this here. It takes a lot of courage to face something so personal.

I have interviewed hundreds of people and found that "introverts" are really dealing with a much bigger issue inside of them. WHY is it that you are introverted? I can hardly imagine a life where you have no contact with other people.

I would love to help you, but I need more information

Feelin Frisky