I have a student I'm a bit worried about

Harassed_teacher

Hi all

I'm a professional teacher and I have a problem with one of my students. To give you a brief background, he has made passes at me by email. Now I do get passes made at me by students from time to time, and as a teacher, I am fine with dealing with this sort of thing normally.

The thing is, this student won't back off. I've been polite and professional with him, making it pretty clear that I am not interested in breaching the trust that my position carries. To be honest with you, even if I had met him outside of the learning environment, I would not be interested. He's much younger than me (in his mid twenties, I am in my late thirties).

I have raised it with other members of staff (including my line manager) as is best practice when dealing with persistent inappropriate attention from a student.

I just wanted to get some outside points of view on this, as well as vent a little outside of the work environment. Whilst this is not a big issue, and I don't feel a real sense of danger, I'm a bit annoyed that he won't respect my feelings (or lack thereof). I have considered making my complaint formal, but, naturally, I don't wish to harm him by affecting his official record. I just want him to stop obsessing over me.

Am I being unreasonable?

Professor X

Of course you are being reasonable! You have every right to feel the way you do.

I cannot tell you what exactly to do as I haven't came across this neither by personal experience or by observing someone in person doing it.

On top of that comes the issue of his age.

You said he's in his mid 20's, and this type of behavior is typical to the more younger in age, 15-18. Perhaps he's a late bloomer, who knows.