Less productive people at work are promoted because they're chummy with higher ups

I was recently passed over for a promotion, even though I have gotten pats on the back and compliments about being a top producer (work in a call center taking surveys).

I have a bachelors didn't plan on sticking around anyway, but wanted the option of being a supervisor.

Coworkers that were considered aren't as good as peformers, but they are friendly with the higher ups.

I'm shy and find it hard to socialize with people up the chain of command, and feel more comfortable with coworkers.

The promotion or position was never posted, the director simply chose people he was friendly with.

I'm miserably stuck in low end jobs and my shyness makes it hard for me to move up.

Any advice or insight would be appreciated.

You've already got the insight. If you don't overcome your shyness and learn to chum with the big boys, you're not going to get nearly as high up in your company. It's just human nature to promote people you're closest to and friendliest with. Even government agencies which depend on test scores often find ways to promote certain individuals whose scores weren't necessarily highest. You're going to have to learn real fast that we live in a world now where who you know is as or more important than what you know...as hard as that may be to swallow.

HokeyReligions

I've always heard the "Its not what you know, its who you know" and that seems to be a standard. I've been on both sides of that fence.

Something that employers look for in new hires and promotions is not just the technical skills - but how well the personalities fit together, because building a team that like and respect each other, and who know how to communicate is just as valuable or important as visible productivity.