I don't care anymore

I'm a high school teacher - have been teaching for 2 years. My job takes up a lot of my time. I don't hate it, but I don't love it. It's ok for now. It kinda has taken over my life. I'm at that point where I just don't give a f**k. I'm skimming corners, putting my minimum into pretty much everything. I feel guilty because I'm not giving these kids my all. I'm just lost with it all. In fact most of my time I spend resisting the work I have to do (yes I procrastinate!).

I'm posting here because this just doesn't sit right with me. It's an internal battle. I know I need to leave and find something else. How do I handle it in the mean time?

• 1 month later...
dreamingoftigers

Each day just focus on the fact that each day you get through brings you one step closer to your goal of doing something new.

As well, try to take in everything about the experience so you remember it with some fondness.

I'm a high school teacher - have been teaching for 2 years. My job takes up a lot of my time. I don't hate it, but I don't love it. It's ok for now. It kinda has taken over my life. I'm at that point where I just don't give a f**k. I'm skimming corners, putting my minimum into pretty much everything. I feel guilty because I'm not giving these kids my all. I'm just lost with it all. In fact most of my time I spend resisting the work I have to do (yes I procrastinate!).

I'm posting here because this just doesn't sit right with me. It's an internal battle. I know I need to leave and find something else. How do I handle it in the mean time?

Teaching is really hard work, especially the first two years. Do you have any good colleagues that you can pool resources with and get some mutual support from?