Grad school letters or recommendation

start-fresh

I know there's some people in academia here, so I was hoping to get some advice. I'm looking to go back to grad school (engineering) for Fall 2011. I graduated from undergrad in Spring 2009. Last summer I contacted a couple of professors looking for advice on grad schools, but other than that I've lost touch with them. Also, I was never especially close, other than getting help outside of class. I never really did any undergrad research or anything.

My question is, is it uncommon for students from a year or two ago to get in touch with an old professor for a recommendation? I know the recommendations won't be terribly strong, but I think my statement of purpose, undergrad grades, and to a certain extent, GRE scores, will help. I really have very few options.

Also, what about asking coworkers? I didn't really want to let the cat out of the bag that I was looking to leave the company, but I could think of one coworker that might give me a recommendation and keep it quiet that I was leaving. I could be vague on the fact that I'm planning on full time school to minimize the impact, but it won't be hard to figure out.

Edited by Amistad

Amistad:

It is not uncommon for graduates to reconnect with professors for graduate school. What you need is an action plan. Primarily, visit the websites of schools you are interested in applying. Learn what candidates they are looking for, what recommendations are ideal, and what current graduate students are doing. This information is key no only to tailoring your resume and graduate application, but in providing professors with specific information that will aid you in success.