dream life vs. work life

I've been working at a newspaper in the town where I grew up, for 1 year 4 months. I like to write and I'm working as a writer. I have a degree in this. Most of my family is here, not really a necessity but it is cool. I get paid very well compared to most other people my age. I also get to see how things work in the community. People actually read my stories and say I'm doing a good job. Did I mention that I'm in Hawaii. So, this will be a really big move. Then again, coming back here was a big move.

At work we're going through a reorganization of the staff and the one person who is jockeying for a promotion is making my work life *hell* by being intolerant of Hawaii people after only being here 4 months. other people are pissed at him, too. It's not The Reason for wanting to leave, but it definitely doesn't help.

Anyway except for having grown up here I don't really fit in, though I have been trying mainly for my job. I want to see new places, at least in the states for now. Everyone to whom I've talked about this has said they seized opportunities to travel and never regretted it. I didn't get a chance after college and I do feel like I missed something by going straight to work. I'm certain I can pick up freelance writing jobs and hop around to stay with family and friends.

I'm pretty confused about what to do and I constantly ask myself if leaving is the right thing to do. I've been thinking about it for a long time. Only, I haven't really "researched" it. Possibly this is the story of my life right now. If only I could be more determined and just go for it, and believe that I'm not going to end up penniless in the street....

Any advice or similar experiences anyone can share?

thanks! :bunny:

hate to tell you, but compared to other professions, journalism is a low-paying job for the hours you put in, and you pretty much have to really really like what you do, or not mind the lack of money ...