How to work with colleague after she broke up my marriage

I work as an emergency medicine doc and thus in a stressful envt requiring close teamwork and relationships with colleagues. 2 months ago I found out that one of my colleagues is having an affair with my soon to be ex wife. They are now openly in a relationship since I confronted them and our marriage broke down as the wife wasn't willing to either go to counselling or break it off.

How on earth do I carry on working with them? I don't know when faced with them whether I will be a) violent and lose my job or b) have to walk away and thus not be able to perform my professional responsibilities.

I'm off work at the moment with the stress of it all but have to go back at some point soon. It scares the hell out of me!

I don't know if I could ignore the situation either. And since you have to be responsible for the lives of others, their relationship being in your face could create work hazards for the patients.

Maybe start looking elsewhere for employment? Or does the hospital you work at frown on relationships between staff? Take it up with HR? Change your shift times?

• Author

We're both on long term training contracts in the UK. No option to move, and have no control over either my shift times or which hospitals we work in. I don't really want my personal life to be brought to work in this way - one of the reasons I've always avoided dating other medics. Nor do I want to have to spread my dirty laundry around the department. I need to find a way to be in the same room as the heartless cruel bitch without killing her.

Then do your best to remember you have patients to attend to that, even if it is just a minor injury, are more important and valuable than your witch of an ex-wife. She doesn't deserve to be able to see you prioritize your feelings for her, no matter how hateful they are, over your career or the people you need to help.