So I've been an unemployed electrician for the last eight months. A former apprentice and friend of mine called me up and said he could help get me a job, but it's not electrical. It's drafting. His company would train me to design fire sprinkler systems, but it pays well has great benefits and is fairly stable. I thought about it for a few days and decided it would be in my best interest to have a steady income and all that. I went through several interviews and with my friends help I got the job.

I knew it would be a change. I went from working in the field day after day to sitting at a desk clicking a mouse for eight hours. I already hate it after four days. I'm an electrician and nothing else.

Am I an a-hole for telling my friend thanks for all your help, but I made a mistake and have to leave?

Am I an a-hole for telling my friend thanks for all your help, but I made a mistake and have to leave?

I don't think so. If you are certain you will never enjoy it, then it's probably better for the employer if you resign now than in a few months time because they haven't invested much in training you yet.

But 4 days is not very long on which to base your decision. This new job sounds like a step up. Are you sure you could never come to love it?

Do you actually have an electrical job to go back to? That would be another consideration.

Citizen Erased

As you have been unemployed for the last 8 months, I think it would be incredibly unwise to leave any job you have at the moment. Unless you're financially okay to support yourself for the next 8 months or so without work.

• Author

I thought that getting out of the field would be a step up too, but it doesn't seem like that now. I need to be active. Yeah, I can go back to my old job but I don't know if it will be for a month or a six or what.

broken umbrella