Dealing with a new job?

start-fresh

I know this is more of a relationship forum but I don't really know who to talk to about this. I graduated from college in May and have only a month in at my new job. I graduated with an engineering degree and my job right now is doing inspection for a construction project.

I enjoyed all of my class work while I was in school and got really good grades. Now when I get out on the job I feel like I've learned nothing and am so sick of dealing with all of the politics involved with the job. Getting hired as an engineer means I am most likely making about the same as some technicians that have been on the job for years and know so much more about it than I do, but I make more simply because I have a degree.

Every day I have to deal with comments about this, even though I do not think I deserve anything better than they do and realize how knowledgeable they are. It's just draining and frustrating. At the same time I'm questioning whether I want this job. I liked the math and solving problems but they don't teach you in school about all of the other crap that gets loaded on you.

Does anybody have any advice about dealing with the stress of a new job and how to decide if it's really the right job for me?

whimsical_memory

To bad they do not offer 'real life' classes in school, right? From your post, I am going to wager a guess that you are younger than the rest of the employees (at least the ones that are griping about you making the same money with less experience). Yes, they may have more time in on the job, but you went to school and earned a degree that qualifies you to make just as much (in most cases more) than those without one.