Are back office admin people (HR, accounts payable ect.) generally no hopers ?

BoredPerson

I am a Junior in a professional role.

After todays meeting I feel savagely depressed about my workplace. The people in the admin roles are simply terrible. They bring with them a river of negativity. I just want to enjoy my job and do the best that I can do without having to worry about their little world. I get the feeling they're mostly incompetent and fuel any problems they might have by being idiots.

They drag me down, make me feel bad about the company. They also terrify me that I might end up in their role through sheer bad luck (or a slashed budget). Has anyone else gone through a similar thing ? Or had a similar experience that can offer advice on how to shake these feelings ?

There are also people at work dragging me into their silly political games. And others who are trying to guilt me for being 'up and coming'. I give off that image, because that is what I want to be.

This isn't about money, or prestige. I feel like no one understands me.. I want to do something with my life.

This is a big opportunity for me and I don't want to mess it up. Any advice ?

There are always going to be negative people at work. It's a game, you don't want to get involved in the negative side of things, don't do it. Don't make friends at work, just do a good job.

I am in an administrative role and I can see how people can be negative because of it. They see everything about the company, they hear negative things, have to clean up other peoples mistakes, have to deal directly with upper management, etc. It can take a toll...

Just don't get involved, if someone say something negative don't talk to them about it, don't encourage it.

• Author
BoredPerson