Love, Money and Happiness

What do you do when the career you desire is 500 or more miles away from a big, loving and beautiful family?

Obviously, naturally a loving family would come first. Most people live in other states and miles and miles away from their parents, brothers and sisters. I have been fighting myself over this question for two years. I have yet come up with any relief over it.

I'm fully aware that there is so much in this great big world to explore with endless possibilities of career moves. Right here, where I wouldn't have to move so far away from the people who are closest to my heart.

Any advice is mush appreciated, Thank You

Think back to September 11, 2001. Pretend you worked in the upper floors of the World Trade Center in New York. Imagine an airliner had just crashed six floors below you and smoke is beginning to fill your workspace. You may or may not get out alive...chances are excellent you won't.

Now, ask yourself if you're glad you got to see your family yesterday or this morning...or do they live 500 miles away?

My comments on your question would have probably been somewhat different a few years ago. However, we live in a different world in uncertain times. The rules are different and the only thing that is absolutely certain is the LAST time we saw the ones we love. There may not be a next.

I'd have to agree with Tony. My brother in law was supposed to be working in the WTC Sept. 11th. Being his normal self, he was late, just a few miles from WTC when the first plane hit.

Life isn't about work. Do what will make you happy, and stay with the people that will make you happy. I, in about 6 days will be living far from everyone who I care about. I really had no choice in this matter.

Try to stay with the people you care about. You'd always have someone to turn to.

This is how I keep my priorities....

1) God

2) Family

3) Career.

Jobs come and go....you only have ONE family.