I'm an electrician and with the housing market the way it is I have been unemployed off and on for almost two years now. I understand this is part of the construction industry, the economy, and life in general. My company is a small shop, we have laid off a dozen people in the last two years and are now down to less than ten. Now my boss is going with seniority when it comes to layoffs and since I am still the newest after seven years I get to go home while everyone else gets to work. My question is this: Am I right for being upset with my boss for sending me home all the time when other employees that make more and are more difficult to deal with get to work?

I have the same qualifications as everyone else. I have more specific skills, the boss actually calls me when I am not working to talk the other guys through some things. I even have an extra license. I just feel like I am being short changed.

I support your frustration 100%. I think you are entitled to feel what you feel and in this particular case it seems more than apropriate since in a sense your boss is making you feel used while not being used. If that makes sense.

It is it fair? NO. It is going to change? No. Is it going to get better? Prob not.

Is there no way you can start to do this work for yourself? ARe you a certified electrician? Get out there and talk to people and get work on your own means. Go to every condo building in your area and offer them your expertiese. Sometimes there are people that live in buildings that need plummers and electricians and they don't even know where to begin looking. Make some flyers up go to your local coffee shops and grocery stores and post some flyers up in their bulletin boards.

T'is the time to get resourceful, hard times call for hard measures. Don't quit your job but do start looking for ways to use your entrepeneurial skills to generate more work/income for you.

I'm really sorry for you, I know how hard it is...