Think I am about to be fired

Under_The_Rose

I have been working here for about 6 months now. Probation ended last week. I thought I was being kept on, but the accounts clerk just said the accountant told her I am leaving. I am thinking this means I am being fired.

What am I going to do? I planned on moving out next month, my SO and I have bought almost all of our furniture and I need this job. I cannot be unemployed. I was for a couple of months after I finished College and it almost killed me.

I will be so ashamed to tell people I was fired, I don't know how I could deal with that. I thought I was going well, but the standards here are very incredibly high and I think that I don't fit in as well as my predecessor, due to everyone else being older then me. I was off sick for a couple of days and now I have to take 2 and a half days off to have an operation, so I know that looks bad seeing as I was on probation, but it is beyond me to do anything about it.

Is there anything anyone cansuggest, any way to handle this?

Don't wait on news to come to you.

Tomorrow, go to your immediate supervisor in a positive way, and ask him/her for an early "review." What can I do better? Is there anything you see that I can improve upon? Keep it very positive, and implement any suggestions they tell you.

You will also, if you have a chance of being kept on, gain the eye of your supervisor as someone who is motivated and dedicated to the company.

If it is a done deal already, you will be able to tell from the tone of your supervisor in this impromptu interview, and be able to better deal.

Either way, you will have useful information that you can use.