Leaving a job within 6 months

Hi everyone,

I'm a recent university graduate with a bachelors who is desperately looking for a job in finance, and was losing hope as the months passed me by. Recently, I interviewed for a position that seemed interested in hiring me, and the salary they offered was $31,000 per annum. This to me is a little on the low side for my experience and grades, and I know of classmates who have landed jobs in the 38,000 area.

I guess what I am asking is, should I hold out for another job, and remain jobless for more months, or would it be bad to accept this position while looking and waiting for something better. I'll be on probation for 6 months so I can always say that it wasn't a right fit, correct?

Or as they say, beggars can't be choosers, so maybe I should take the job and just see how it goes for the next year without thinking about a few thousand dollars?

Any opinions out there? Thanks.

I think you really need to look at all aspects of the job, not just the salary.

Does it look like a fun place to work?

Did you weigh in all the benefits? Maybe the 31 is better than 38 due their 401k, insurance, what have you.

And honestly, the salary difference is not that large. If you are only driven by money and the enjoyment of what you are doing, you may really be setting yourself up for a miserable work life.

If you find a job you love and do well, the money almost always follow.

I think you need experience. Get a little of that, prove you can do your job well, and don't worry, you make those salary increases in quite large bounds.

Remember, its not really so much on how much you make, but how much you spend...

Good luck and just my opinion.

• Author
I think you really need to look at all aspects of the job, not just the salary.

Does it look like a fun place to work?

Did you weigh in all the benefits? Maybe the 31 is better than 38 due their 401k, insurance, what have you.