Unemployed and no end in sight

Being unemployed is the most depressing thing I have ever gone through. The worst part is that had that boss not been a psycho I would still be at my original job where at least I was making okay money. Now I have been forced to pick up a part time job while I look making 3 bucks less an hour than I was before.

I don't know what I am doing wrong!! I graduated top of my class, I apply for just about everything half decent. Granted my resume only consists of one job but I was there 6 years. I thought stability was a good thing. I thought after I graduated college that I would find a job pretty quick. Does anyone have any advice on job hunting. Or just some way to cheer up while going through this. I feel like I am moving backwards instead of forward. I guess I just need some words of encouragement or some people that understand what I'm going through.

Sweetcheripie

I'm sorry - I know this is a hard time. First thing, have you contacted any recruiters. Have them look at your resume and make sure that it is accentuating all your excellent features - I would definitely state that you were top in your class, etc.

As a part time job, have you considered waitressing? Usually you work at nights and weekends so gives you flexibility to keep interviewing and looking during the week and with tips provides a nice little income to keep the wolves from the door.

Where do you live? Would it be better to move to an area where there are more jobs?

i'm not sure how much i can encourage, but i have been umemployed for almost two months, no one is hiring in my industry right now...only ones that may be hiring are out of my town so i have been pondering the ole career change (just tried this morning to apply for a truck driving deal...i like to drive and the pay is good, but my computer crashed after filling out forms). the only problem with it is that i could be away from home a lot.