Any MFT's out there??

Hi,

I've been very interested in pursuing a career in Marriage and Family Therapy and was wondering if I could get some feedback about the profession. Any information would be helpful. Specific areas I have questions about are:

Pros/Cons of MFT

Level of difficulty/Stress

Becoming too involved emotionally

Schooling and internships

Level of personal fulfillment

Expected Salary, in San Francisco Bay Area

Tips/Advice

Private practices

jobs after college

I am 30 years old, female and have a BA in Religious Studies

Thank you so very much. I really appreciate this!!

• 2 weeks later...

hello,

I have my Masters in Social Work and can give you a little input on some stuff I know

I can tell you that to be MFT OR LCSW you have to get licensed

that means after you get your master's degree and then you have to register with the board of behavioral sciences and collect around 2500 hours of supervision before taking the exam to get the license and be titled as a MFT OR LCSW

when you graduate from grad school you get a MFTi not a MFT

MFTi is what you have until you get licensed

The stress and difficulty and pros and cons varies by the area of specilaization you go to and how an individual works. As far as salary in the bay area or sf, if you are not licensed honestly, it sux it is aorund 39-43k for a master's degree. If you obtain you license afterwards then it will be better because you can also do private practice or work for a big organization and easily make around 66-80k