Hi Everyone, there is a phenomenon that is affecting me more and more as I get older and remain unmarried. (I'm 37 now.) The phenomenon is workplace crushes. It used to never be a problem; if I had a workplace crush, I didn't mind at all; if fact it would cause me to do a better job at work.

Now, it's become an agony that eats inside me. Since most men at all my workplaces are married, the crushes have become a painful, painful agony. It usually starts out where the man, often a superior, thinks I do a good job (I'm an accountant), plus thinks I'm nice, so we usually develop a trusting, professional relationship. At this point, it's pleasant to be recognized, and I still don't have a crush, and I often tell myself "now don't let your feelings get out of hand, because after all, he's married."

But gradually (or sometimes suddenly), the feelings DO get out of hand. I begin to resent the guy for ever being so nice to me in the first place. I often wonder how he can be so nice to someone when he's supposedly happily married. And I mean they're really nice - one guy even took me to coffee, one on one, to chat about work. Is that appropriate? It probably is, unfortunately, making it more obvious that my crush is entirely MY problem and doing.

Like I mentioned, I'm 37, and have never been married. Would workplace crushes be easier to handle for me were I married? Would I feel less "vulnerable," since I would be on the same level, marriagewise, as my male co-worker (or superior)?

I think if you were hapilly married you may not have as many workplace crushes, and if you did they wouldn't be as intense. It sounds like the crushes are because of the fact that you want to be in a relationship.

I don't know if this is the case but do you work a lot, and hence not have time to meet many single men outside of work? That may be the problem..

• Author

I would love to get involved in a relationship and go on to get married, but here are some restrictions