Hi there,

Just wondering if anyone would be able to share some tips about how they practice mindfulness?

I got told by my dr today that I should be doing a bit more of that to destress and unwind. I know I do get stressed with working- mainly because I push myself very hard, always striving to do the best for my patients (I'm a hospital pharmacist) and don't always look after myself properly because I'd rather stay on a ward and do something to benefit a patient than take my full lunch break.

And now I have stress induced vertigo... again... the first time I had it I was in the process of leaving my old community job that was very stressful, the second time was after moving house and I had a week where I came home everyday to another bill. And now I think I'm just run down from working. I've been told not to work for a few days now and I phoned work and they were very understanding.

Any tips?

This is a good article to help give you some pointers.

https://m.huffpost.com/us/entry/8069422

For me, learning proper belly breathing and how to meditate were the biggest contributors to helping me take a moment to stop and slow down. How are you in your day to day life outside of work? Are you mostly unaware of what's going on around you or do you stop to smell the roses on your days off?

For me two of the easier techniques are:

walk outside. Feel the sun on your face. Take a moment to really think about what the warmth feels like. Then notice all the fall colors or the other bits of nature around you

When you eat remember your mom talking about chewing your food 32 times before swallowing. It Forces you to slow down. Put a bite in your mouth think about the texture. Focus on the flavors. Enjoy the act of nourishing your body

Read the Power of Now (Eckhart Tolle), if you haven't already. Its an easy but insightful introduction to what mindfulness is. I do think you need to understand what is meant by mindfulness before you try to practice it.