Assertiveness and Boundaries,

I learned to be assertive and set boundaries last year. Im 32, so when I was 31 I started doing it. Has anyone on here learned late? Or know anyone who has? I don't know sometimes, I feel bad in a way because of that. As a child and teenager, I had a lot of bad experiences. Even in my twenties. And I think a lot of that was my fault for not behaving mature. I mean I know as a minor your not really mature, but being born pre-mature and all, apparently has something to do with it. I don't want councelling right now because I just got out of it shortly before summer. Any thoughts, comments?

you never stop learning, for each jerk has thier own turn of phrase, and are individual, some give up early and some are so daft that they pester, some do this for fun

just say no

or say this is where my space ends and yours begins

I was a late developer too, 63 years old, started learning in my 30s

Hey, it's never too late to learn. :)

I don't think I've ever been non-assertive about my boundaries - but I did only learn later in life that sometimes it's worth compromising. Previously, if anyone asked me to do something that I didn't want to do, I'd just say "no, **** that". I think both of those are two polar ends of a spectrum, and barring a few cases, there's no black or white answer where exactly you should fall on it. Nowadays, on a case-by-case basis, I will weigh my perceived boundary against the reasons why someone might want me to do something or other, and arrive at a decision based on that. In many cases I decide that it's worth keeping the boundary, but in a few cases I decide otherwise. And looking back at those, sometimes compromising was the right thing to do.

• Like 1
don't talk to me