At 30, still as insecure as in my 20s

Wth?

I thought at 30 years old I'd have life figured out by now. I'd be able to handle everything and anything that comes my way. I thought I would not be insecure at all. But here I am. I am as insecure as ever if not more. This isn't about getting women. It's about how I feel about myself. I figured by now I'd be able to let everything roll off and not let anything affect me.

After watching all these youtube videos on self improvement, all these self help books. Nothing. I get the occasional high of self worth from reading books for a week and then I'm back to my old insecure self. I even saw a psychologist and he was NO help at all. Albeit he was very nice. I threw down $$ down the drain.

Does this ever truly go away?

I'm a 3rd year medical student. I work out, I am physically fit and I have decent face. I have everything going for me, except my 5'7 height ;).

I guess what is making me feel insecure is that I don't feel like a "Man" I still feel like a child. I don't know if this is a physical thing, being 5'7 with a small frame. If it was, I have tried to counter act it by lifting weights..but my small frame will always make me look small. I've accepted that. Maybe?

If this is a mental aspect, I don't know what else to do.

My insecurity has been bothering me. It has been with me my whole entire life. It's getting worse and I have no idea why. It is not depression or anxiety. I'm not comparing myself to anybody either.

Any advice?

You seem to blame it on your height.

Have you ever had a girlfriend? Do you have a part-time job on top of your medical school?

Decent face.. I'm not trying to picture you but you're probably not ugly.

What is the cause of your insecurity? Have you tried to look into this with your psychologist, or by yourself, or on LS?

• Like 1
  • Author
You seem to blame it on your height.

Have you ever had a girlfriend? Do you have a part-time job on top of your medical school?