First night out in a social gathering and very nervous.

So I didn't have a social life in high school. I'm due to meet my new flatmate, she is a year above me and also a student, very sociable (you can tell) and good looking. I think she's been given a couple indicators that I'm new to having friends, etc., like when I asked her 'what is the concept of a pre-drinks', and like another time when I was about to do something that wouldn't have followed social protocol if I would have done it, but she stopped me before I was gonna.

I met this guy at college, he looks very cool, is a hot guy and he goes out and dances and does whatever. Because he doesn't know anyone else, he said we was interested in joining me and my flatmate. I told him about a plan with me and my flatmate. So the three of us are gonna meet tonight at someone's house, have drinks, then head out to a couple popular bars for young people.

So now I'm going to be in a crowd of very popular people who you can tell were like born to socialize and dance at clubs. I'm getting nervous. I'm used to the whole come-back-home-at-a-comfortable&warm-7pm life. But apparently we'll all be done partying at 4am. Dancing? I've done that once when I was tipsy. I'm afraid I'm gonna make a joke of myself, lose my cool and collapse after like one drink. The latter won't really happen, but you get the picture.

I'm confused and nervous. What do I do?

TL;DR: How do I succeed socially.

ZHguy, no one is better than anyone else. We are all going to die, we are all equal. The president or the dalai lama are of no higher standing than that of the homeless vagrant.

At the end of the day, it's your personality that's going to attract people, not how "cool" you are.

• Author

At the end of the day, it's your personality that's going to attract people, not how "cool" you are.

'Cool' as in, good at social stuff. And I want to be good at these social gatherings, because I'm afraid I may fail here. Which is why I'm nervous.