I'm always comparing myself

I'm a sophomore in high school and I'm sure it's no surprise I'm not happy in my own skin, I'm miserable. I don't think I'm an unattractive person, I just always think there's girls so much prettier. Recently my ex moved on with someone I know and she is gorgeous, which really hit me hard. I'm worried if or when I find a relationship they'll just leave me for someone more attractive. I have a good personality, but I tend to cling. And I can't stop that either, as soon as I find someone, the minute something goes wrong I'm scared they'll leave so I hold on too tightly and ruin the relationship, or at least that's what I feel like I do. I don't know how to change but I'm so unhappy I need to

Edited by Sar880
I'm a sophomore in high school and I'm sure it's no surprise I'm not happy in my own skin, I'm miserable. I don't think I'm an unattractive person, I just always think there's girls so much prettier. Recently my ex moved on with someone I know and she is gorgeous, which really hit me hard. I'm worried if or when I find a relationship they'll just leave me for someone more attractive. I have a good personality, but I tend to cling. And I can't stop that either, as soon as I find someone, the minute something goes wrong I'm scared they'll leave so I hold on too tightly and ruin the relationship, or at least that's what I feel like I do. I don't know how to change but I'm so unhappy I need to

Comparing yourself to someone else is never going to stop. It's useless and self-destructing. Also it's a never ending cycle. Think about it for a minute: There's this dude that has $10.000. When he looks around him, he only sees people who own $100.000. He feels poor and disgusted with himself so he steps up his game and is going to make more money.